Be the change you want to see in this world

"Winning starts in the mind. Whatever the mind can conceive, it will achieve."
-Joaquin Nangauta Naputi

"Be the change you want to see in the world."
-Mahatma Gandhi

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Both Dr. Jose Q. Cruz and I presented at the NABE Conference in New Orleans, Louisiana on February 19, 2011 during the Asian-Pacific Islander SIG session. In particular, I focused on the use of digital storytelling to build the schema of English Language Learners on Guam, and he focused on scaffolding for excellence using SAT10 scores. The following are snapshots taken during our conference trip.

Sunday, February 13, 2011

Click on the image above to view the Guam Council IRA February 2011 Newsletter. If you are unable to view the newsletter, visit the IRA website at Enjoy!

We wish to congratulate the newly-elected SOE Alumni Association Officers! It is an honor that they have accepted, and we are confident that they will lead our alumni organization to be the best that it can be!


President - Elizabeth “Liz” Hamilton

Vice President – Graziella “Grace” Griffin

Secretary – Kenneth “Ken” Duenas

Treasurer – Eleanor “Ele” Le Brun

Dr. Lourdes Palomo Klitzkie, Professor Emerita, will remain the Advisor and work closely with the new alumni officers. An induction ceremony is forthcoming, and we hope that you can join us to celebrate the occasion. The time and date will be announced soon.

We thank you for your support throughout the years, and it has certainly been an honor working closely with all of you! Un Dangkulo Na Si Yu’os Ma’ase’ Todos Hamyo!

Your outgoing alumni officers,

Dr. Matilda Naputi Rivera, Lois Taitano Gumataotao, Liwanag Dominguez, and Mae Marie Cruz Mendiola

Tuesday, February 01, 2011

An SOE Alumni Association election of officers will be held at the February 5 Guam IRA meeting/Read-A-Thon 2011 “Read to Succeed” Kick Off at Ordot-Chalan Pago Elementary School from 8:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. SOE alumni members are encouraged to vote for their favorite candidates at the SOE Alumni table. Please note that only active SOE alumni members can cast their votes. SOE Alumni membership forms will also be available. For more information, you may e-mail or


Margaret Beem
Elizabeth “Liz” Hamilton

Vice President:
Graziella “Grace” Griffin
Laura Taisipic

Kenneth “Ken” Duenas
Martha Sudo

Maria Elena Blas
Eleanor “Ele” LeBrun